Guide to the Law for Employees in the Los Angeles area
Most laws related to employment are made at the state and federal level. See our Guide to Employment Laws in California, and our Guide to Employment Laws in the U.S.
What is the minimum wage in the Los Angeles area?
As of July 1, 2021, throughout the city of Los Angeles, Santa Monica, Pasadena, Malibu, and unincorporated L.A. County (see Where is unincorporated LA County?), minimum wage is currently $15 per hour.
Beverly Hills, West Hollywood, Culver City, Long Beach, and most other cities follow the state minimum wage (below).
Hotel minimum wage: For Los Angeles and Santa Monica, the current minimum wage for certain hotel employees is even higher, at $15.66/hr.
As of January 1, 2022, in most of the rest of California (except for a few cities where it is higher), minimum wage is $15/hr for employers with 26 employees or more, and $14/hr for employers with 25 employees or fewer1Cal Labor Code Sec 1182.12.
See more at the California Department of Industrial Relations.2Industrial Welfare Commission Minimum Wage Order 2014.
Other Laws for Employees in the Los Angeles area
Are there any other Los Angeles-specific employment laws?
Employees working in the City of Los Angeles are also entitled to at least 48 hours of paid sick leave every 12-month period.
Employers may either provide this all at once (frontloaded) or it may be accrued at the rate of 1 hour per every 30 hours worked.
Employees may use the paid sick leave beginning on the 90th day of employment.
Is sick leave just for the employee or can it be used to take care of a family member?
Sick leave may be used for the employee to take care of herself or himself or their family member, or any individual related by blood or affinity.
What if I don’t use all of my sick leave in a 12 month period?
Accrued unused paid sick leave carries over to the following year of employment. But the employer may be cap the carry over to 72 hours; however, an Employer may choose no cap or a higher cap.
Most other employment laws are made at the state and federal levels. See our Guide to Laws for California Employees.
Exercise Your Rights
If you feel your rights have been violated, we highly encourage you to find an employment lawyer. Many employment lawyers offer free consultations, and many even agree to be paid solely as a percent of your case payout; so don’t hesitate to give them a call!
|↑1||Cal Labor Code Sec 1182.12|
|↑2||Industrial Welfare Commission Minimum Wage Order 2014.|